Egg White Face Mask

As I talked about extensively in this post, I am trying out simple natural recipes in search of alternatives for my traditional toiletries. This time I tried an egg white mask. I got the recipe from this book by Nerys Purchon: Health and Beauty the Natural Way: Simple, Safe Recipes to Nurture and Beautify.

Take 1 egg white whipped lightly and spread over a clean dry face. If you have oily skin a bit of lemon juice can be added to the egg white. If you have dry or sensitive skin moisturize skin first or spread a thin layer of honey on your face before the egg white. Leave on for 20 minutes. Rinse and pat dry.

I only used the egg white. Although you are suppose to let this mask dry for 20 mins I only got 7 mins in before I had to take it off. When they say it tightens they mean it, the egg white dried stiff and tight to my face. I tried to open my mouth, and it took my skin awhile to stretch. I think next time I might use the honey first.

Anyway I was impressed with how small my pores appeared after the mask, but the effects were gone by next morning. My skin was also very shiny afterward, again gone by the morning. Overall I would rather use this simple, cheap recipe than use the tightening masks I have bought from the store, but I wasn’t particularly wowed with the results.

If anyone tries it out, leave me a comment on how it goes!

One thought on “Egg White Face Mask

  1. I just this mask for the first time. My pores look very small and my face has a nice glow. Previous to the egg white mask I exfoliated my fask first so I could have optimum smaller pores.

Thoughts?